NSLS-II   |   CFN   |   Brookhaven National Laboratory


The Users' Executive Committee (UEC) represents the scientific user community at the NSLS-II. The UEC interacts with NSLS-II Administration, BNL, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and the public in matters of user community issues, facility operation, policies, and improvements.

General members are elected for a term of two (2) years. The nominating committee has prepared the following slate of candidates who have agreed to run for election for the 2018-2020 term. Six (6) general member candidates will be elected by a majority vote. Election results will be announced at the afternoon session of the main meeting at the NSLS-II Annual Users' Meeting.

Voting Guidance for UEC Membership (from the Current UEC Chair):
As you view the list of nominees for membership on the 2018-2020 NSLS-II UEC, please consider the following. The committee members are your representatives and serve as two-way channels of communication between you and BNL management (mostly NSLS-II, Energy Sciences Directorate, the GUV Center, and Facilities and Operations). Issues the UEC deals with include not only your scientific community needs, but also quality of life concerns, BNL site access (foreign national visits, training, security), commonality between DOE user facilities, outreach, and, of course, organizing and running the annual users meeting, UEC meetings and Town Halls as well as serving on other BNL committees. So while you consider the scientific interests and technique expertise of the candidates, also consider how involved and effective they would be in the other aspects of the job. The UEC has found that having at least some of the members living locally to the Lab helps in these other duties of office.

Vote Here for the 2018-2020 UEC Members